Hotel Registration & Event Venue Online Trust & Cybersecurity Forum

2010 OTA Online Trust Leadership Awards

The OTA Awards program recognizes exceptional and meritorious achievements by companies, non-governmental agencies (NGO) and individuals who demonstrate commitment to preserving and improving online safety for consumers, business and government services. Finalists and winners will be recognized at the 5th Annual Online Trust & Cybersecurity Forum hosted at Georgetown University, September 22-24 in Washington DC.*

Awards may be provided in the following categories:

  • Individual Leadership - Recognizing industry and business leaders for their commitment to enhancing online trust

  • Product or service innovations advancing consumer trust through safety innovations, consumer choice and control of their online activities

  • Company - Long-term commitment of consumer safety, privacy and online trust

  • Non Governmental Organization (NGO)

  • Emerging Company - Award to new company (3 years or younger) for the innovation

  • Interactive marketer, advertiser, web site or financial institution for their commitment to consumer trust

Past winners have included Afilias, DigiCert, eCert,VeriSign, PayPal, Bank of America, Microsoft, Secunia and TRUSTe
 Submit today for services and product launched between September 1, 2009 and August 31, 2010.  Awards to be provided to individual(s) for his or her commitment to online trust, company and product and to an NGO who has demonstrated leadership, commitment to collaboration and accountability.

2010 Awards Highlights & Summary

  • Leadership Award -   J. Trevor Hughes, Executive Director of the International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP). 

  • Public Policy Award - Ari Schwartz, most recently the VP and COO of the Center for Democracy and Technology, (CDT). 

  • Technical Collaboration was awarded to Jim Fenton, Cisco Distinguished Engineer.

  • Excellence for Organizational Collaboration was presented to Larry Clinton, President and CEO of the Internet Security Alliance

 Criteria for awards include the following judged on a 100 point scale. 

  • Technology Adoption

  • User Education and Prescriptive Advice

  • Leadership & Industry / Business Collaboration

  • Public Policy, Regulatory Affairs & Enforcement

  • Adoption of OTA Online Principles

Download Application & Nomination Form  (PDF) - To be posted by July 1st.

*Finalists must be present to win at the award program on Thursday evening September 24th


© 2010.  All rights reserved.  Online Trust Alliance (OTA)


Revised June 15, 2010.